Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and a part of the South Lamar Historic District.
What Oxford resident or visitor doesn't recognize this iconic Greek Revival home prominently located at the intersection of University and South 9th? Exactly a 4 minute walk to the Square, and precisely a 6 minute walk to the Grove!
One of the oldest homes in the county, this house was begun in 1836-1838, but not finished until after the Civil War. Most of the trees surrounding the home were chopped down by Union soldiers to use for their campfires when Grant camped on the grounds.
Judge James Howry built a small house and law office on this site. After prospering as a planter, he built this Greek Revival house and died here in 1884, having served as a University trustee from 1844-1870. His son Charles lived here next, connecting his father's law office to the house. In 1897, he sold the house to Dr. Wright. Around 1950, Dr. Wright's daughter Anna, who had married Dr. Frank Moody Purser (the pastor of Oxford's First Baptist Church from 1923-1953) took over the house.
The current owner has decided to share this wonderful old home for short-term rentals. The entire home has 7 bedrooms and 4 1/2 bathrooms. It is divided into 3 distinct sections for rentals.